Whats going on at Whole Foods?


This was originally posted by me on the site yublog.org

Oh boy, here is another political debate.  I would like to ask the readers what their opinions are on this issue.

So last week I was on Facebook and I noticed a group that was against the Whole Foodssupermarket and called for a boycott against it.  For the readers who do not have a Whole Foods in their area, Whole Foods is a super market with locations in the US, Canada, and UK.  Most of the food sold is healthy and organic; the company is recognized as being very environmentally conscious.  As a result of Whole Foods’ respect for the environment, the company receives a large amount of “liberally minded shoppers,” so you can imagine how shocked I was to learn that what has gotten everyone in such a fuss is the company’s CEO’s statements against Universal Healthcare in the United States.  The interview with Whole Foods CEO John Mackey can be found on the Wall Street Journal here: http://online.wsj.com/article/SB20001424052970204251404574342170072865070.html.

I don’t want to take any of his words out of context and misinterpret them here – that’s for the news – I want everyone to go to the article and make up their own minds.  After I read the article, I made up my first mind that what Mackey did was stupid and since I support Obama’s health care plan that I should go out and join the boycott, but then I got to thinking and realized how hypocritical I was being.  I remember during the height the Bush administration, professors being fired from their jobs because they spoke out against the government.  So I ask the readers, have we become hypocritical that we will crucify the dissenting opinions of the opposition just as they did to us before?  In my opinion, I say we need to have an intelligent debate, that means no outrages claims on the right that their will be so called “death panels” and no hypocrisy on the left that calls for a boycott when someone uses their right of free speech.

About Michael Kirschner
I am a blogger on http://www.yublog.org/

Leave a Reply

